Does Tambadana’s Higher Loan Ceiling Outweigh Nimbura’s Wider Eligibility?

Author Photo
Thariq Rosli

Table of contents

Before either lender’s pricing gets compared, there is a plainer question worth settling first: would you even meet Tambadana’s eligibility rules?

Its published FAQ narrows the applicant pool in ways Nimbura’s page does not, and that detail can decide the comparison before rates or loan size come into play. What follows checks eligibility, loan amounts, disclosed costs and approval speed against what each lender states directly on its own site, verified in September 2026.

Eligibility: The Detail That Rules People Out Before Rates Matter

Nimbura’s stated requirements are wide. Applicants need to be Malaysian citizens aged 18 to 70, hold a valid MyKad, and keep an active bank account. Income level and employment type go unmentioned.

Tambadana’s published FAQ sets a narrower band, ages 20 to 60, and adds two conditions Nimbura’s page does not carry: the applicant must be currently employed, and must hold a valid residential address in Peninsular Malaysia. Anyone based in Sabah or Sarawak, or working freelance or self-employed, should confirm directly with Tambadana before applying, since the published criteria do not say how those cases are handled. Borrowers weighing income-related eligibility more broadly. Nimbura’s dedicated loans-without-a-payslip page covers how a payslip-free loan application works.

Loan Size: Two Starting Points, One Shared Ceiling

Both lenders raise the available amount for borrowers with a clean repayment history, but they start from different points. Nimbura’s minimum loan is RM300, with first-time borrowers eligible for up to RM5,000 and repeat borrowers reaching up to RM10,000. Tambadana’s own site states a first-loan ceiling of RM8,500, rising to RM10,000 for returning borrowers.

Someone who needs more on a first loan will find Tambadana’s published limit higher. Someone who would rather start smaller and build up over repeat cycles gets that same rising structure from Nimbura, just with a lower opening figure.

From Application To Funds Landing In Your Account

Both applications run entirely online; e-KYC and MyKad verification stand in for a branch visit. Nimbura describes the process in three steps: submit the application, receive a decision, receive the funds, backed by OTP and MCMC-issued digital certificates that confirm identity.

Tambadana’s flow starts differently: the borrower first selects a loan amount and verifies a phone number by OTP, then submits the application for a decision by SMS or email. Funds then arrive within 24 hours of approval, compared with the same working day through Nimbura. For readers weighing either option against a bank loan instead. Nimbura sets this out on its licensed-loan service page, covering how a licensed money lender loan works.

CriteriaNimburaTambadana
Legal entity & KPKT licenceNIMBURA SDN. BHD. (202001030236 / 1386556-P), licence WL7662/10/01-3/110127, valid 12/01/2025-11/01/2027Wawasan Cojaya Sdn Bhd (201401047621 / 1123810-P), licence WL6646/14/01-6/301127, valid 01/12/2025-30/11/2027
Loan term91-180 days91-180 days
Maximum APR18% per annum18% per annum
Late payment chargeNot publicly specified8% per annum on the outstanding balance
Stamp duty / other chargesNot publicly specified0.5% of approved amount, minimum RM10
Early settlementNo penaltyNo penalty
Repayment extensionUp to 3 extensions of 30 days eachNot publicly specified
Typical approval timeAround 15 minutesApproval confirmed by SMS/email; homepage references about 5 minutes
DisbursementSame working dayWithin 24 hours of approval

The two lenders publish the same maximum APR, so the practical difference sits in what else gets disclosed. Tambadana states its stamp duty and late payment charge as fixed percentages, giving a borrower a clear figure to work out in advance. Nimbura’s public materials do not break out an equivalent stamp duty or late fee line, so a borrower who wants that number before applying would need to ask directly. On the other side, Nimbura’s FAQ describes a specific extension policy, up to three 30-day extensions, that Tambadana’s published pages do not mention.

First-loan ceilings are not the same across the two lenders.

Nimbura’s published limit for a first loan is RM5,000, while Tambadana states RM8,500. Both raise the maximum to RM10,000 once a borrower has a clean repayment record to point to.

Wondering whether Tambadana accepts applicants from Sabah or Sarawak?

Its FAQ lists a valid residential address in Peninsular Malaysia as an eligibility condition. Nimbura’s stated criteria carry no such regional restriction, only citizenship, age 18 to 70, a valid MyKad and an active bank account. Anyone applying from outside Peninsular Malaysia should confirm directly with Tambadana.

What does a late repayment cost with Tambadana?

A charge of 8% per annum on the outstanding balance, according to its published terms. Nimbura’s public FAQ does not list an equivalent figure, so check the loan agreement directly rather than assume either way.

Stamp duty is one line Tambadana spells out that Nimbura does not.

Tambadana discloses a stamp duty of 0.5% of the approved loan amount, with a minimum of RM10. Nimbura’s published materials do not itemise a comparable charge.

If you think you might need more time to repay, check the extension terms first.

Nimbura’s FAQ describes up to three extensions of 30 days each. Tambadana’s public pages do not describe a comparable mechanism at the time of writing.

Does paying off a loan early cost extra with either lender?

No. Both Nimbura and Tambadana state that early settlement carries no penalty.

Which One Actually Fits

Neither lender suits every applicant, and the published details point toward different situations rather than a single better option. Tambadana’s higher first-loan ceiling and disclosed stamp duty and late fee figures may suit someone who wants a larger amount upfront and prefers knowing the exact extra costs before applying, provided they meet its employment condition and Peninsular Malaysia residency requirement. Nimbura’s broader stated eligibility, covering ages 18 to 70 without a stated regional or employment restriction, combined with its explicit multi-extension option, may suit a borrower who values flexibility if repayment timing shifts, or whose situation sits outside Tambadana’s published criteria. Checking both lenders’ current terms directly before applying is worth doing regardless, since licensed moneylender terms can change.

Disclaimer

The loan terms, rates, fees and eligibility details described above reflect information each lender had published at the time this article was researched, and either lender may update them without notice. Approval is never automatic: it depends on each lender’s own assessment of the applicant, and meeting the stated criteria does not guarantee a loan will be approved. Before applying, confirm the current terms directly with the lender in question, and take a clear look at your own ability to repay before taking on any loan.

Loan amount

We guarantee the security of your data and do not transfer it to third parties.

Receive a loan
of up to RM5000
in 15 minutes

Completely online, only MyKad required

Apply now Receive a loan