What Separates Nimbura From CreditXpress on Loan Size, Term and Paperwork

Author Photo
Thariq Rosli

Table of contents

CreditXpress runs its own blog post explaining how to check whether a Malaysian moneylender’s KPKT licence is genuine, right down to matching the registered company name on the i-KrediKom app against the name printed on a loan agreement. That habit of reading the fine print is worth carrying into CreditXpress’s own published terms too, and into Nimbura’s, rather than stopping once a licence checks out.

A licence confirms a lender is legitimate. It does not say much about the loan itself. Nimbura settles repayment in a single monthly schedule stretched across a longer term, while CreditXpress splits repayment into several smaller installments over a shorter one, and both run their applications entirely online.

What follows lines up each lender’s own published figures on loan size, term, cost, documentation and eligibility, checked directly against nimbura.my and creditxpress.com.my in September 2026. None of it ranks one lender above the other; it is simply set side by side so a reader can match the details to their own situation.

Loan Amount and Term: Two Different Borrowing Shapes

Nimbura’s published loan range starts at a minimum of RM300, with first-time borrowers eligible for up to RM5,000 and repeat borrowers with a clean payment history able to access up to RM10,000. The loan term runs from 91 to 180 days, repaid through monthly installments.

CreditXpress publishes a wider range, RM500 to RM20,000, over a shorter term of 30 to 91 days, repaid across 3 to 6 installments rather than a single monthly schedule.

For a borrower who needs a larger amount and can repay within about three months, CreditXpress’s published ceiling of RM20,000 is higher than Nimbura’s repeat-borrower limit. For a borrower who prefers a smaller loan spread over a longer period with one repayment each month, Nimbura’s structure is closer to a conventional instalment loan. Readers weighing either option against a traditional bank loan. See Nimbura’s licensed money lender service page for secure financing from a licensed money lender.

Income Documentation: Payslips, Gig Work and Self-Employment

Nimbura’s published eligibility covers Malaysian citizens aged 18 to 70 with a valid MyKad and an active bank account. The site does not state an income threshold or restrict applications by employment type, and describes supporting documents only as needed on a case-by-case basis, without listing what those documents might be.

CreditXpress states its eligibility as Malaysian residents aged 20 to 65 with a valid MyKad, a stable income and an active local bank account, and specifically says self-employed and gig workers are welcome, since income is self-declared rather than verified through a payslip or bank statement upload. Borrowers weighing income documentation more broadly. See Nimbura’s no-payslip loan service page for the no-payslip loan option.

An applicant aged 18, 19, or over 65 falls within Nimbura’s stated 18 to 70 range but outside CreditXpress’s stated 20 to 65 range. A gig worker or freelancer weighing whether their income type is accepted may find CreditXpress’s eligibility text more explicit on this point, since it names self-employed and gig income directly, rather than simply not mentioning an employment restriction the way Nimbura’s page does.

Applying: Mobile App Compared With Web-Based e-KYC

Nimbura’s process runs in three steps: submit the application, receive approval, receive the funds, entirely through a browser, using e-KYC, OTP verification and MCMC-issued digital certificates to confirm identity. Approval typically takes around 15 minutes, and funds are disbursed the same working day.

CreditXpress’s process is built around a downloadable mobile application, listed on Google Play at the time of writing. An applicant registers with a MyKad scan and a selfie, selects a loan amount, and receives a decision the site describes as typically under 5 minutes, with an average decision time of about 4 minutes 32 seconds shown on its FAQ page. Funds are credited to a Malaysian bank account the same working day when approval happens before 6pm on a working day.

The practical difference is the channel rather than the speed. Nimbura’s flow works through a mobile browser without installing anything, while CreditXpress’s flow is built around its own app. A borrower who prefers not to install a dedicated finance app, or who is applying from a shared or work device, may find Nimbura’s browser-based flow more straightforward.

Checking a Licence Before Applying

Both lenders publish their KPKT licence details directly on their own sites. Nimbura’s licence is WL7662/10/01-3/110127, held by NIMBURA SDN. BHD. (202001030236 / 1386556-P) and valid from 12 January 2025 to 11 January 2027. CreditXpress’s licence is WL3337/07/01-11/020227, held by Opg Capital Holdings Sdn Bhd (201801018808 / 1280824-T); its site states the licence is valid until 2 February 2027, though an effective start date is not published on creditxpress.com.my at the time of writing.

CreditXpress also publishes a dedicated article walking a reader through verifying a lender’s licence on KPKT’s i-KrediKom app and matching the registered company name to the one on the loan agreement, alongside separate posts on recognising unlicensed lenders and confirming that a call or message genuinely comes from the company. Content like this gives a cautious borrower a way to check any licensed lender’s credentials independently, not only CreditXpress’s own, before signing an agreement.

Rates, Fees and What Each Lender Discloses

Both lenders publish the same maximum APR, 18% per annum, the ceiling set under Malaysia’s Moneylenders Act 1951. CreditXpress expresses this as a daily rate of 0.05%, and its FAQ gives a worked example: a RM10,000 loan over 91 days carries a total profit of RM455, for a total repayable amount of RM10,455.

CriteriaNimburaCreditXpress
Legal entity & KPKT licenceNIMBURA SDN. BHD. (202001030236 / 1386556-P), licence WL7662/10/01-3/110127, valid 12/01/2025-11/01/2027Opg Capital Holdings Sdn Bhd (201801018808 / 1280824-T), licence WL3337/07/01-11/020227, valid until 02/02/2027
Loan amountMinimum RM300; up to RM5,000 (first loan), up to RM10,000 (repeat borrowers)RM500 to RM20,000
Loan term91-180 days30-91 days
Repayment structureMonthly installments3 to 6 installments across the loan term
Maximum APR18% per annum18% per annum (0.05% daily rate)
Stamp dutyNot publicly specifiedBorrower’s responsibility unless waived by the lender
Late payment chargeNot publicly specifiedInterest applied after a grace period; described as capped under the Moneylenders Act, exact rate not itemised
Early settlementNo penaltyNot publicly specified
Extension / hardship optionUp to 3 extensions of 30 days eachRestructuring available for genuine hardship cases on request; terms not itemised
Approval timeAround 15 minutesTypically under 5 minutes (site cites an average of about 4 minutes 32 seconds)
DisbursementSame working daySame working day if approved before 6pm on a working day

Where the two lenders differ is in what else gets itemised. Nimbura’s FAQ describes a specific extension option, up to three 30-day extensions, and states plainly that early settlement carries no penalty. CreditXpress does not itemise a late payment percentage, describing charges only as interest applied after a grace period and capped under the Moneylenders Act, and its published pages do not state an early settlement policy either way. A borrower who wants an exact late-fee figure or a clear early-settlement policy before applying would need to ask CreditXpress directly for those details.

Self-employed and gig income: does CreditXpress still count it toward eligibility?

Yes. CreditXpress’s published eligibility specifically states that self-employed and gig workers are welcome, with income self-declared rather than verified through a payslip or bank statement.

What loan amount and repayment term does CreditXpress publish?

CreditXpress publishes a range of RM500 to RM20,000, repaid over 30 to 91 days across 3 to 6 installments.

Is a payslip needed to apply with CreditXpress?

No. CreditXpress’s site states that no payslip or bank statement upload is required, and identity is verified through a MyKad scan and a selfie instead.

Missing a CreditXpress repayment date: what happens next?

CreditXpress’s terms state that interest for late payment is applied after a grace period for a missed installment, and that late fees are capped under the Moneylenders Act. An exact percentage is not itemised on the pages reviewed, so a borrower should confirm the figure in their own loan agreement.

Does CreditXpress charge anything for settling a loan early?

This is not stated either way on creditxpress.com.my at the time of writing. A borrower planning to settle early should confirm the policy directly before applying.

How does repayment work on a CreditXpress loan?

CreditXpress states that repayment can be made via FPX or through an e-wallet, across 3 to 6 installments depending on the loan term selected.

Can a borrower verify that a CreditXpress licence is genuine?

CreditXpress’s own published guide recommends searching the company name or licence number on KPKT’s i-KrediKom app and matching the registered company name to the one on the loan agreement, the same check that applies to any licensed moneylender, including Nimbura.

Which comes first for a CreditXpress applicant, a web form or a mobile app download?

The app. CreditXpress’s process runs through a downloadable mobile application, listed on Google Play at the time of writing, rather than a browser-based form.

Matching the Lender to the Loan You Need

Neither lender fits every situation, and the published details point toward different borrowers rather than a single answer. A borrower who needs a larger sum and can repay within roughly three months, or who is self-employed and wants that eligibility stated explicitly, may find CreditXpress’s published range and income wording line up more closely with their situation. A borrower who wants a smaller loan spread over a longer monthly schedule, who is outside the 20 to 65 age range CreditXpress states, or who wants a browser-based process without installing an app, may find Nimbura’s terms a closer fit instead. Confirming the current rate, fees and eligibility directly with the lender before applying is worth doing either way, since licensed moneylender terms can change.

Disclaimer

Every figure in this article, loan amounts, rates, fees, terms and eligibility rules, comes from what Nimbura and CreditXpress had published as of the check date noted above, and either company can revise its terms without notice. Meeting the eligibility points listed here is not a guarantee of approval, since each lender makes its own assessment of every applicant. Anyone applying should verify the current terms with the lender directly first and weigh their own capacity to repay on the schedule being offered.

Loan amount

We guarantee the security of your data and do not transfer it to third parties.

Receive a loan
of up to RM5000
in 15 minutes

Completely online, only MyKad required

Apply now Receive a loan